February 24, 2010 at 2:02 pm Leave a comment

This last weekend I decided to remove some snow from our roof around the skylights and chimney.  There has been a lot of melting in the area and the ice dams looked impressive.   There’s a lot of planning that goes into a project like this, like do I prefer the walnut coffin or the oak one.  It was a good way to get my wife to express her feelings toward me, “don’t do it, I love you to much”.   Our roof is a relatively low slope, 4 inches of rise to every one foot of run, and the snow was so deep once I stepped onto the roof I would have had to snap off at the knees to fall off.  So making sure I stayed well anchored in the deep snow I did my shovel work without incident.  What I did observe is the ice dams were a lot more impressive from the ground than from the roof.  At most they were 10 inches up the roof for a dam about 4 inches thick at the drip line.  The other observation was the massive amount of snow on the roof, in some places 30 inches or more.  I was concerned about the load but a quick inspection in the attic and around the house looked like things are holding up well.  This winter has been rough on buildings and especially roofs.  It will be interesting to see what happens when the big melt starts.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Most Recent Posts


